Entry and Exit

GD transit visa extended to 144 hours
Published:4 May 2019 Source: Author:IEC

Visa-Free Transit Policy

According to the announcement by Guangdong Public Security Department,Guangdong will extend the transit visa exemption period significantly from the current 72 hours to 144 hours.

Starting from 1st May 2019, nationals from 53 countries can enjoy a 144-hour visa-free period when transiting through southern China's Guangdong Province.

The new move, approved by China's State Council, is an extension of the 72-hour visa-free transit policy currently adopted in Guangdong Province.

They can enter Guangdong via its three airports, namely Guangzhou Baiyun International Airport, Shenzhen Bao'an International Airport and Jieyang Chaoshan International Airport, and exit via the province's 32 ports. Exclusive immigration lanes will be set aside for transit travelers, and related procedures will be streamlined.

The Policy is applicable to certain passport holders from 53 countries, including countries in Europe, the Americas, Oceania, and Asia. They are required to carry effective international travel documents and have onward travel tickets with confirmed dates and seats within 144 hours.

Which Countries are Covered by the Policy?

America (6 countries): United States, Canada, Brazil, Mexico, Argentina, and Chile

Europe (39 countries): Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Czech Republic, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Russia, United Kingdom, Ireland, Cyprus, Bulgaria, Romania, Ukraine, Serbia, Croatia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Montenegro, Macedonia, and Albania, Monaco, The Republic of Belarus

Oceania (2 countries): Australia and New Zealand

Asia (6 countries): South Korea, Japan, Singapore, Brunei, United Arab Emirates, and Qatar